A Bitterroot Birthday

I’ve had a love/hate relationship with the Bitterroot…mostly the hate variety. I’m not sure why, I just haven’t been all that amazed. My first few trips left me convinced there were more whitefish than dinky trout. I’ve been fishing the ‘Root a lot more in the past month, slowly figuring out some of the different accesses, and growing to love it.

It’s not that there aren’t any fish, it’s just that the Bitterroot doesn’t give it up as easily as the Blackfoot, Rock Creek, or even the Missouri.

With the only clear water in town, the Bitterroot was the only real option for my birthday fishing trip. Undie and I headed out bright and early to meet up with Anthony over at FCFT. We also met up with Ivan from Yukon Goes Fishing for the first time. Fishing was pretty slow. Didn’t really matter, I spent most of the time goofing around with my new camera. I couldn’t ask for a better birthday.

Hooked up

Undie tossing some line.

Leroy Brown

Undie doing what he does best.

Many thanks to my brotha Undie for helping me capture some of these great shots.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Cody

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Bitterroot Birthday

  1. Yeah i hate the bitterroot too…

  2. Aram Aykanian says:

    Happy Birthday and really beautiful photos. Got skunked on the Yuba yesterday.

    Stay safe,

    Hilary and Aram

    • cmelchior1 says:

      Thanks! See any skwalas?

      • Aram Aykanian says:

        Just a couple. I think they’re winding down. Had a few takes on a Skwala dry but missed ’em all. Plenty of Pmds and March browns but no fish on them on top, though folks were catching them them nymphing. Just got a report from Charlie. He and Bob went today and picked up about 5 between them, all on dries.

  3. Steve Lasack says:

    Happy Birthday,those are some beautiful pictures. Good job.

  4. Wray Sinclair says:

    rad pics dude. good looking blog

Leave a Reply

